Failed Architecture (FA) reconnects architecture with the real world. By opening up new perspectives on the built environment, we seek to explore the meaning of architecture in contemporary society. Since 2011, we have been providing an inclusive platform for critical urban discourse, fueled by unconventional narratives from an international network of contributors.

Architecture continues to fail because we are stuck in a global economic system which puts profit above everything else, reproducing social and political conditions that undermine people’s control over their built environment. Meanwhile, the (architectural) media reduces the design of society to a spectacular image. As a result, the public is left with a shallow understanding of what architecture is and what it can be.

FA challenges dominant spatial fashions and explores alternative realities, reaching far beyond the architectural community. We combine personal stories with research and reflection, always remaining committed to the idea that architecture is about social justice and climate justice, pop culture and subculture, representation and imagination, and everything that happens after the building’s been built.

FA is an independent foundation, operating from five bases around the world. It is an horizontal organisation facilitated by three, often rotating organisers.

Ameneh Solati
Charlie Clemoes
Chiara Dorbolò
Daphne Bakker
Dirim Dinçer
María Mazzanti (organiser)
Marian van Bodegraven (organiser)
Mark Minkjan
René Boer

Juana Salcedo (organiser)
Laura Buitrago
María Victoria Londoño-Becerra

Eda Hisarlioglu

New York
Christin Hu
Joshua McWhirter
Kevin Rogan
Michael Nicholas

Kate Wagner

Copy editors
Jim Clemoes
Katherine Tanner
Martha Mingay

Former editors
Abbas Sbeity
Anny Li
Bassem Saad
Çiğdem Yılmazer
Dina Taha
Jan Loerakker
Juan Sebastián Sepúlveda
Ljubo Georgiev
Maja Popovic
Mert Ceylan
Michiel van Iersel
Öykü Önal
Tim Verlaan

Graphic design
Kees de Klein

Tom Laan


Company registration
Chamber of Commerce Amsterdam under number 60042036

Failed Architecture would not have been possible without the endless commitment of our teams in Amsterdam/Rotterdam, Beirut, Bogotá, Istanbul and New York, and our contributors from around the world. Failed Architecture is supported financially by the FA supporters (donate now!), and received a design criticism grant from the Creative Industries Fund NL in 2017 and 2019.